FITech Hydrogen

FITech offers free courses in the hydrogen economy industry

Hydrogen plays an important role in the green transition from fossil fuels towards the production and use of renewable energy. It is set to play a crucial role in Finland’s 2035 carbon neutrality goal. To meet the skills shortage in the hydrogen economy industry, FITech Network University collaborated with the Hydrogen Cluster Finland to create a new study module.

Courses that cover the whole value chain

FITech universities combined their best expertise to create courses that cover the entire hydrogen value chain: energy, hydrogen production, storage, logistics, and applications. Additionally, courses on geopolitics, large-scale project management, and circular economy complement the study module. Many students will also benefit from the course selection available in the FITech Energy Storage project.

Read more about the study module, courses, and schedule.

FITech Hydrogen is funded by the Service Centre for Continuous Learning and Employment (SECLE) and will continue on the current funding until summer 2025.

The executive group of FITech Hydrogen is as follows:

Ismo Laukkanen, Chair (ABB Oy)
Touko Apajalahti (Technology Industries of Finland)
Henna Hirvonen (Finnish Energy)
Karoliina Honkala (University of Jyväskylä)
Kai Hämäläinen (Tampere University)
Pertti Kauranen (LUT University)
Matti Lehtonen (Aalto University)
Anne Mäkiranta (University of Vaasa)
Antti Niemi (University of Oulu)
Pekka Peljo (University of Turku)
Antti Pohjoranta (Neste Oyj)
Tuomo Rinne (P2X Solutions Oy)
Henrik Saxén (Åbo Akademi)
Mika Suvanto (University of Eastern Finland)
Jussi-Pekka Teini (Academic Engineers and Architects in Finland TEK)

The operative group / list of academic coordinators of FITech Hydrogen is as follows:

Matti Lehtonen, Chair (Aalto University)
Satu Pitkäaho (University of Oulu)
Manu Lahtinen (University of Jyväskylä)
Seppo Niemi (University of Vaasa)
Teemu Rauhala (Tampere University)
Mikko Helle (Åbo Akademi University)
Harri Niska (University of Eastern Finland)
Pekka Peljo (University of Turku)