The Finnish Institute of Technology

The Finnish Institute of Technology (FITech) was founded in 2017 by seven Finnish universities of technology, Technology Industries of Finland (Teknologiateollisuus) and the Academic Engineers and Architects in Finland TEK. The founding mission of FITech was to increase cooperation in the field of engineering to improve the development of Finnish innovation capacity and to respond to competence demands arising in the field of engineering.

Initially the FITech network was solely focused on serving the competence demands of industrial companies in southwestern Finland, many of which are growing rapidly and have an increasing demand of competent engineers. The FITech Turku project was founded in Autumn 2017 to help in responding to this demand. In 2019 the FITech network is engaging in a new project with the aim of supplementing the education of thousands of Finnish professionals in the field of ICT, responding to the current shortage of professionals in the field.

The FITech Board is responsible for directing network operations. The board has the authority to decide to found new FITech projects as well as nominating executive groups for projects. The board consists of representatives of founding partners, and is currently composed of:

  • Eero Eloranta, chair (Aalto University)
  • Jarmo Partanen (LUT University)
  • Helka-Liisa Hentilä (University of Oulu)
  • Heli Harrikari (Tampere University)
  • Kalle-Antti Suominen (University of Turku)
  • Harry Linnarinne (University of Vaasa)
  • Mikko Hupa (Åbo Akademi University)
  • Mervi Karikorpi (Technology Industries of Finland)
  • Juhani Nokela (Academic Engineers and Architects in Finland TEK)

FITech has a Chief Operating Officer, who is responsible for reporting to the board about FITech operations. Since January 2019, Heikki Koponen has served as COO of FITech.